Two-hundred and Eighty-one: i’m not doing it right

the moon hangs fat, my very own dandelion seed
as i shower -clean clean clean- to the beat
of my own judgement. i run lines of compliments
down my back, between my breasts, relishing
strawberry words, so very sweet.
i need so much.
so little trust in male promises.
so many letters unmailed.
so many hands unheld.

she smiles and i love her and i wonder
how many people love my smile.
she said, ‘if you don’t like your smile,
you’re not doing it right.’

i’m not doing it right.

they say i am a snowflake
and it’s true because
i am cold but
i melt so easily.

i throw my arms in the air
and i’m alive
and I want to chase this.
i am alive.

but i don’t.

i come home
and write a poem instead.

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

8 thoughts on “Two-hundred and Eighty-one: i’m not doing it right”

  1. This was very sadly beautiful. Your voice sounds hauntingly similar to me like the American actress Summer Glau. It’s delicacy presents as a stark contrast to the normal force I’m used to when reading your writing. Thank you for presenting it!

    1. Well, thank you! I do not know who this Summer Glau is but I shall be sure to Google her ass. I’m delicate and forceful, huh? Funnily enough, that’s not the first time those words (or any synonyms) have been used in conjunction to describe me.

      Thank me for presenting? Thank YOU for your comment!

  2. they say i am a snowflake
    and it’s true because
    i am cold but
    i melt so easily.

    I think I’ll make you my email signature, you achingly beautiful thing.

  3. Beautiful, you should have done this long ago. I keep thinking of doing a vlog it would not compare but this gives me encouragement.

    I would like to hear some of your other work in your own voice.

Leave a Reply

