Darkness vs Pearls

Looking at a photograph of a chandelier, it all made sense. Suddenly, I understood why I am so desperate to be surrounded by beauty. It is because there is a darkness in me, so much darkness that I need my life to be pretty and perfect to balance it out. I need to be adorable. I need my body to be perfect. I need my friends and I to have magazine relationships. I need fairytale love. I need silk and chiffon and pearls. I need satsuma sunsets. I need cupcakes and champagne for breakfast. I need to be overwhelmed by beauty every day because if I don’t, I remember the darkness. And that darkness leads to drinking and cutting and bad men and running away. And that’s no good. And I’d really rather have the pearls.

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

14 thoughts on “Darkness vs Pearls”

  1. I think you need to work on tearing down the walls that keep in the darkness. Isn’t that what this format is about. As you free yourself on some of the darkness your colors will sprout from within.

  2. Perhaps behind every awesome person enjoying and living life to the fullest is someone who is just afraid of the darkness.
    You do what you gotta do!

  3. babe, darkness is in our nature. u cannot get away from it. even ask ur pearl where it used to be before u opened the jaws of an oyster .

    some wise man said:

    ‘Ring the bells that can still ring,
    Forget your perfect offering,
    There is a crack in everything,
    That’s how the ‘light’ gets in.’

    for beauty, how about warming under a chandelier of glow worms?

Leave a Reply

