It’s a New Dawn, It’s a New Day, It’s a New Life for Me.

 

My eyeballs are little spheres of snowflakes and it feels like that are constantly threatening to melt. At 11:59, I was so relieved I wanted to weep. We shot glitter into the air and it fell onto our hair like wishes. A stranger bought us champagne. My mother held my hand and looked me dead in the eye and said, ‘All the best,’ and I heard, I know how hard last year was but you can rest now because it’s over, and this year is going to be wonderful for you.

The party was a collage of hugs and kisses. I couldn’t stop smiling. We drove home to pick up Jeffrey because I’d forgotten him and I can’t sleep without my teddy bear, not even on special occasions. We danced, the only ones, and we didn’t care. I put seven olives in my martini. It’s a miracle no one tripped over/ squashed the dog.

He said, ‘I hear you’re making quite a splash tonight.’
I said, ‘Oh really? From whom?’
He said, ‘Several people, actually.’

At 7am, we collapsed onto the couch and crocheted our bodies into each other: me snuggled into The Mermaid, Sparrow snuggled into me, our legs entwined with Sunshine’s, all of us with shining eyes and tired smiles.

When I woke up, I wandered upstairs to find Sparrow on the rooftop. The sky was light blue and candy pink. It was a dawn sky.
I said, ‘How appropriate that today, the first day of the year, has such a young sky.’
He agreed and offered to roll me a cigarette.
I said, ‘It’s a good thing neither of us resolved to quit smoking. It would have been a epic fail.’
We sat there in the cold and I told him about my relief, about how I’ve never felt so delighted to start a near year, about how light I feel already, about how this is what the first day of the year is supposed to feel like. I told him that 2011 would have to pull out all the stops in order to be a worse year.

We ate breakfast at 6pm: capuccinos and toast and left-over party food. Sunshine and Sparrow and Pixie and me -Bambi.
I said, ‘This is one definition of happiness.’
They said, ‘What?’
I said, ‘Realising that you wouldn’t want to be anywhere else. Isn’t that happiness?’
And we all smiled.

At midnight, we agreed that watching Spaceballs would be the perfect end to the perfect New Year’s Day (read: afternoon, really). We snuggled up on couches and starting giggling.
One by one, we fell asleep.

Dear 2011,

Please be good to me. I’ll accept anything you throw at me, but I’d really prefer it if you were good to me.
And to all my loved ones too.
And to my readers.
Basically, be good to anyone I like.

Kind regards,
Alexia

How were your respective New Year celebrations, readers? Were they magnificent and wild? Magnificent and quiet? (Yes, these are the only options.) Are you superstitious about how the year begins?

Apologies once more for having fallen so far behind on my comments. I’ll be catching up over the next few days!

On an additional note, I finally set up a Facebook page for this blog! I’m website-illiterate so all I managed was a little button* on the right. If you like me enough, click on it and let me know!

*Isn’t ‘button’ such a darling word?

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

14 thoughts on “It’s a New Dawn, It’s a New Day, It’s a New Life for Me.”

  1. Over the last two days I skimmed a lot of New Year posts, but this one is the only one I REALLY read. It was beautiful.

  2. You had fun! ๐Ÿ˜€ Nice.

    My new year was quiet. Didn’t feel like doing anything. Don’t see the point actually. Everything’s the same.
    (Excuse the cynicism)

    1. Not at all! That’s what I’m like usually. That’s why this one was so special. It felt like what NYE is supposed to feel like: a new beginning.

  3. I was going to leave a comment on your other post about not doing your blog rounds because you were having so much fun socializing (along the lines of – Are you kidding me? Socialize! Blogreading can wait!).

    And for this post – wishing us all goodness – that’s really wonderful and you know how sometimes I am, a crybaby. But no, it didn’t bring a tear to my eye, though I did smile at your kindness.

    Happy new year Alexia ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I usually don’t do much of anything for New Year’s Eve, and usually don’t feel like it means much of anything. 2010 was just such an incredibly shit year, though, in so many insidious ways (though I didn’t set myself — or anyone else — on fire, anyway; also, I unfortunately did not dress up in any complicated animal costumes). This New Year’s Eve, I spent the evening with a handful of friends at a comedy drag musical show (it would take much too long to explain the genius of this particular show, so I won’t even try) and drank too much champagne and laughed until it hurt. Then went to a bar to have cocktails and french fries, and then ended up standing around a fire in a random front yard, with a bunch of really nice, really gay strangers who let us crash their party because it was so fucking cold out, and my midnight was spent outside with a few friends and a lot of flamboyant strangers, drinking champagne out of a plastic cup, petting an assortment of adorable dogs, and watching the fireworks. And I slept through the hangover, and woke up feeling just fine the next day. So, all in all, a lovely start to 2011. Plus, it’s an odd-numbered year, _and_ contains a prime number. How could it fail to be better?

    p.s. Now I reallyreally want to see a picture of your teddy bear.

    1. That sounds like an awesome New Year’s!! I meant that!
      Like you, NYE has never meant much to me. This time it was necessary though… and it worked out great!
      11 is also a multiple of 33 which is a magic number.
      I’m working on a picture of Jeffrey!

  5. I have the same feelings about 2010. Damn, that year was hard. I felt a huge sense of relief at midnight…almost like my life can finally begin. It has already begun, but I felt like with 2010 behind me, I could start over, officially. I hope you have a wonderful 2011 ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

