Inside, I Go On Forever

Look at the way the sky slides through the clouds! When the sun shines gold like that, it makes you believe in magic, doesn’t it? I wonder what my future friends and lovers are doing right now; I wonder whether they’ve ever thought of me. That crack in the pavement is shaped like a broken heart; I wonder if anyone else has ever noticed that. The leaves on that tree seem to be waving at me. That man on the motorbike looks sad; I hope he smiles again soon. Butterflies are messengers; they drop dreams into our minds. That smelt exactly like seventeen and that makes me want to cry. Can you hear that creaking? That’s the sound  my lungs make when I remember to breathe. Sometimes my life rises up inside me like the video of lava rising inside a volcano. I bet that old man has a lot of interesting stories to tell. I’d listen to them. This cappuccino tastes of hope. When it rains at bed-time, it feels like the world is taking my pain so I can have a good night’s sleep. Sometimes I feel jazz notes flash in my eyes. Will I remember this moment? Will I look back and laugh at my delusions of wisdom? Where will I be in a decade? Who will I be? What would happen if I walked into traffic? If I could just have this cashmere jumper, today would be okay. My life is a movie lacking a script. Sometimes I feel the world by osmosis; its vibrations make me tingle. Sometimes I have to close my eyes just to sigh. My soul has roots on this earth and and roots in the sky because there is no beginning to me, no end. I am a river. I am a thousand little mirrors reflecting the world. I am a mandala of energy. I think that, inside, I go on forever.

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

18 thoughts on “Inside, I Go On Forever”

  1. “When it rains at bed-time, it feels like the world is taking my pain so I can have a good night’s sleep.” – wow, that’s good. Your last line is also a killer. I likes it, a lot.

  2. “I wonder what my future friends and lovers are doing right now; I wonder whether they’ve ever thought of me.”

    “Sometimes I feel the world by osmosis; its vibrations make me tingle.”

    Very nice. I live for phrases I can roll across my tongue, or around my mind, and savor them. Not too many people can pick them, press them, age them, and serve them just right. Thank you…

  3. Welp. It appears my brain has spilled out on to someone else’s blog.

    Hitting home regardless, this is really well-written and descriptive. I can’t help but wonder what my future friends and lovers are doing right now either…

  4. Alexia! No words to describe how much I love this one. You’ve said things I think about all the time but obviously am not articulate enough to actually put it down on paper.

  5. I almost copy and pasted the whole thing here followed by: Magic. Because that’s what it was.

    I am going to put this on my wall. It is my favorite piece yet.

  6. Gorgeous. I so recognize the pace and the urgency here, but you are much more eloquent in the way that you write that head full of thoughts and ideas. I adore (and identify with) this: “Sometimes my life rises up inside me like the video of lava rising inside a volcano”

  7. It’s like you’re in my head, in a good way. I can’t even select my favorite lines because it feels likes I’m betraying the others. This whole piece is the sigh that you have to close your eyes for. I wish I could write like you do.

    S

Leave a Reply

