Two-hundred and Sixty-four: Sunday

Ladies and gentlemen, I am going on a boy hiatus. Not because I hate them. Au contraire, I rather adore boys. Actually, that is the problem. They are all boys. As Salma Hayek said, “I keep waiting to meet a man who has more balls than I do.” Right now though, I am a bit tired of waiting. And I feel like I am wasting my words on individuals that have done little else but disappointment me. Therefore, I am going on a boy-strike. No dates. No poems. And, if I’m brave enough, no flirting. I wrote that last sentence without laughing.

Additionally, I am bored of writing of sadness. I am not a particularly sombre person. In fact, I am not sombre at all. In fact, one could argue that I am the exact opposite. True story.
I need to find a balance:

Public Lexi– allowed to stop smiling and admit she’s having a bad day/ week/ year every now and then (delete where applicable).

Private (ish) Blog Lexi– find another bridge of inspiration and get over it. Enough whining.
(Not enough wining though.)

Sunday

A carful of artists laughing.
A singer, a writer, a ballerina dancer.
Two musicians, male ones.
Later,  a third, not to rock and roll the boat.
Candles -a bit nervous- and songs,
lots of them.
Clap, clap, click, click.
I smile and I close my eyes and then I’m not smiling
but it’s alright.
A thunderstorm threatening.
To us, a whisper.
Shh, listen.
It’s the sound of brothers and sisters.
Want to wish on the cracks in the sky?
Strangers in the morning.
By midnight, no longer shy.

Can you tell my 365 project is running out of fire? It’s 3am and I’m too tired to think. This will have to do for now. 100 poems to go! (I know, I know, I’ve fallen behind!)

 

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

10 thoughts on “Two-hundred and Sixty-four: Sunday”

  1. Did your poem reflect the split personalities? because that’s how I saw it. Loved it, loved it! and btw, I’d watch you perform poetry any day. Isn’t it enough proof, the amount of people who follow you from all parts of the world? 🙂

Leave a Reply

