Two-hundred and Fifty-four:

i am the idea and you are the lightbulb.
my lullaby is your silence and yours is her breath.
i am a shooting star that’s run out of fire.
does she know you’re a liar?
i am hiding phone numbers like easter eggs.
i am trying a different saddle because i’m riding a different cowboy
but fuck me if the footprints don’t turn out to be the same size.

I am so sick of writing about men.
But it is the most accessible theme and the pressure of a poem a day limits me.

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

9 thoughts on “Two-hundred and Fifty-four:”

  1. I know you must be tired of writing about men… I’m tired of writing/thinking about my ex. This poem really spoke to me though. Especially

    “does she know you’re a liar?”

    It makes me wonder what will happen the next time my ex has a girlfriend. Will she know what he is and what he did to me? Should she know? Should I tell her before someone else gets wrapped up with him?

    All this to say – I know you are tired of writing about this, but it affected me, so thank you!

  2. My advice to Catherine is to let it go, if someone warned the world of women about all the male lairs out there there would be few males left unbranded and a bunch of females that would not care.

    Now on to more important things, Alexis I would get bored writing about men all the time too, but than again I am not a woman and I would write about women all the time.

    My excuse makes more senses though women are more beautiful and complicated.

Leave a Reply

