Two-hundred and Twenty-eight: Last Time My Nails Were Neon Pink

Last time my nails were neon pink, I was fucking up something big but
still painting hope, not seeing the sabotage shadowing my skin.

Last time my nails were neon pink, they were not used for claws.
They were teeth-grazing lip-stick wipers and sheet-clenching fists.

Last time my nails were neon pink, they had a back to scratch.
They were prim and short and cracked, too tired to attack.

Last time my nails were neon pink, I tucked them in, daylight fangs,
and because of that, I think, I know, they don’t glow so bright no more.

Quick poetic regurgitation that needs a lot of editing. But I am house-cleaning right now and I am taking advantage of my gusto because the domestic goddess in me has been dormant all summer. Enough dust, enough clutter, enough laziness. I am cleaning out my life and starting over. Again.

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

6 thoughts on “Two-hundred and Twenty-eight: Last Time My Nails Were Neon Pink”

  1. “Last time my nails were neon pink, I tucked them in, daylight fangs”
    This line really stuck out. This is my favorite so far.
    “They were teeth-grazing lip-stick wipers and sheet-clenching fists.” This line has to be one of the most image provoking lines I’ve ever read.
    All of it seems to be talking about major events instead of just one event…and maybe seeking a a new event…life is boring…time for a change. Just what it made me think about.

    And good luck on the housecleaning…about the only way my house gets cleaned is when hubby goes “oh yeah so-and-so will be here in 20 mins. *poof* house is spotless. We have company a lot LOL!!

    1. I’m EXACTLY the same! I just get so wrapped up with writing that I spend all day in bed and I don’t even notice the clothes and the plates and the dust!

      I love how different readers find different things in the same poem.

  2. “I am cleaning out my life and starting over. Again.”

    Oh! That is such a wonderful thing to do. I hope that I will survive this sadness so that one day I can say “I’ve cleaned out my life and am starting over. Again.”

    One day.

Leave a Reply

