Two-hundred and Six: Float

There are bottle caps curled in ashtrays
like conch shells. I race to the grains
of my drink. I smoke seaweed. I preen
like a mermaid on the rocks of all the hearts
I have broken.
I can swim in perseverance.
I have been doing it like a habit,
like a tide all my life.
Sometimes I wave at the past.
Even after I’ve drowned my mind in the memories
of my mistakes. There is a certain lack of depth
in my regrets. My soul is a siren’s song;
seducing strength from the sand of my pain.

I have a charming collection of pearls.
And every now and then I like to string them
up and wear them. Just to remind myself
that I will always float.

Needs editing but… well, I’m a bit…distracted right now…

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

5 thoughts on “Two-hundred and Six: Float”

  1. I love how you will often comment and say that a poem needs editing, but really, none of them ever need to be changed.

    1. I love this comment!
      I guess feel guilty for not editing- I get caught up in the spontaneity… and then laziness hits and I worry that what I’ve written is not up to scratch. It’s lovely to know they are appreciated in their rough-draft-ness.

      That is not a real word.

  2. I like the mermaid bit too. In fact I like this whole bit a lot:
    “There are bottle caps curled in ashtrays
    like conch shells. I race to the grains
    of my drink. I smoke seaweed. I preen
    like a mermaid on the rocks of all the hearts
    I have broken.”

Leave a Reply

