One-hundred and Thirty-seven: I Wear My Heart in My Eyes

My heart is a thousand little knots but one becomes undone every time I laugh.
I smiled for the first time today. It felt so unfamiliar that it made me cry.
Almost. One day you’ll be thirsty for me but I refuse to have any tears to give you.

They don’t know how much my smiles meant today. I loved returning the favour.
I’ve always thought I was take, take, take but twenty-five years late I figure out
that I’m too give, give, give. I am so cover-girl with everyone except you. With you
I was the plank you ended up pushing me off from a boat you made me board.

He said, you don’t have to do anything; you deserve it because I love you.
I wish I could take his words and put them in your mouth. Then he said, please don’t cry.
I swear my eyes were dry  but I’ve always been useless at being unreadable:
I wear my heart in my eyes.

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

Leave a Reply

