One-hundred and Seventeen: A Kind of Woman

I am not just one kind of woman.

I am the kind of woman
that feels brave because
she yells at other mistake-making cars,
even though she doesn’t drive
(it’s safe when there’s no time for retaliation).

I am the kind of woman
that gets very angry with you
when she thinks she has wronged you
(because it’s better than choking on guilt).

I am the kind of woman
that puts her obsessive compulsive
tics above etiquette
(though no longer does she feel
rude, merely resigned).

I am the kind of woman
that will get into an feminist argument at a dinner party
with a stranger whose name she has forgotten,
even when she knows he’s just winding her up
(because then he’s treating her like the doll
he thinks she is).

I am the kind of woman
who will sit at Starbucks
and berate her broke status,
and then buy a hobo a burger
(even though it doesn’t feel like a good deed).

I am the kind of woman
who will grab at a a random comment
and ask you to nit-pick it apart with her
in case there’s a criticism buried beneath it.

I am the kind of woman
who tries too hard to be kind
and then frets
because if she needs to try so hard
then surely she’s not that kind.

I am the kind of woman
who tries so hard to be
the kind of woman
she wants to be, that
she forgets
she becomes
that woman
when
she forgets
to try.

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

One thought on “One-hundred and Seventeen: A Kind of Woman”

  1. Oh Alexia, I love this! I can totally identify with it – especially the verse about not driving but yelling at cars making mistakes. Because I TOTALLY do that even though I don’t have a driving licence.

Leave a Reply

