One-hundred and Fifteen: A Pound of Flesh

I didn’t expect to see you here.

Once the holes in your eyes glinted
with shiny, steely danger but now
you glow dully, the muted silver
silent with history.

You used to consume me.
Your razor-sharp words would
make my thoughts bleed. I died
a little each time you touched me.

It’s taken me a thousand poems
to get over you. I still see your
shadow there sometimes,
skimming my skin,
concealing the scar tissue
of fury. It’s so sad.

I didn’t expect to see you here
but
tomorrow,
I think I’ll take you away from here
and put you over there where
I can’t use you to hurt me anymore.

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

Leave a Reply

