One-hundred and Ten: Hologram Hearts

For thirty-six days I have been standing behind myself,
catching all the words I think I should not say. Perhaps
you see the shadows of my thoughts, moments before
they evaporate, secrets sucked back into my mind. Maps
to soul-searching plaster my walls but I never turn the
light on. You might think I am tip-toeing to set traps
for you, steel words I can turn into promises but it’s
just that I want to know you; these secrets are gaps
in my gaze; there are other holes I want you to fill but
I am strung so tight, one sharp tug might make me snap
and I would break like a string of pearls. For thirty-six
days I have been zapping myself to you like a hologram
but I cannot let you touch me until I trust that you are
more than just a towering wall of cards that will collapse.

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

Leave a Reply

