One-hundred and Four: Closed Rose

You used to make me feel
like it was safe to close my
eyes. I could lean on you
and I did, falling in from the
intense peace, such a relief.

You used to take away
my chances to chase,
so that all I had to do was
stand still and be caught.

Now I watch all the other women
with roses in their hair, receipts
from lovers and suitors, romance
suited up, sweetly seductive. And you

Ask me if I want one and I do
but I don’t want you to ask.
My bare hair hangs to hide
flacid eyes that can not close.

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

Leave a Reply

