Eighty-seven: Dude

Dude,
I smoke when I’m supposed to and
I drink at inappropriate moments.
I laugh at things that shouldn’t be funny
and sometimes I think too much and
sometimes I don’t think enough.

Dude,
I seesaw between pizza and fruit and
I always have time for ice-cream.
I smile when
I don’t know what to say
or
I know exactly what to say
but  don’t want to say it.

Dude,
I will spoil you like time spoils skin.
I will make you breakfast.
I will stroke your hair.
I will know you.
I will strip.

But dude,
I won’t stay if
I’m the only passenger
in the only car
on a two-way street.

April 2010

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

Leave a Reply

