Eighty-one: Pause

Remember this.

Life stands still but
your heart doesn’t stop moving.

Laughter sits in a circle,
Songs pop out of the radio,
And I think:
Click!
The flowery sunshine,
The trees waving like old friends,
The gentle murmur of fresh kindred spirits.

We have youth.
We own it.
We have spring,
and Argentinian barbecues,
cocktails,
and puppies leaping like lambs.

This is a candid shot of peace.
I don’t need anything

except a pause button.

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

Leave a Reply

