Seventy-two: Secret

There’s gold and silver on the table,
beer and cigarettes.
And I can have whatever I want.

Somewhere in the distance my friends are laughing.
And I am too. I think.
My eyes are here but I’m not really looking.
I’m staring at the shadows of your words,
going over each and every one like waves creating sand.

I call you just to say goodnight
even though it’s not your bedtime.
We’re smiling secrets down the line,
saying everything with the softness of our voices.

I’m excited.
I’ve spent thirteen days trying not to let go
but
I feel my hard edges fading,
I feel a couple of bricks tumbling down,
gently as a whisper, and

the sighs start coming.

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

Leave a Reply

