Sixty-two: Z

Life threw us together like dice and now
I can’t imagine playing the game without
you. It’s like we’re always dealt the same
hand even though we sit at different tables.

We’re two faux Indians of a feather, mix-
matching our eyes, our tapes, our families.
I feel like I’m Peter Pan all grown up.
Summer vacations with my shadow

When we can smoke our memories
and talk with hands and glances, and
every time someone says, ‘I don’t believe
in fairies,’ I point to you and smile and say:

My favourite dyke is sitting right there
and I don’t think she’s going anywhere.

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

Leave a Reply

