Dear Moon, I Love You

Dear Moon,

I love you.
I love you the way you are in every way you are.

I love you now, as a luminous pearl, a giant white hole in the sky. I love that if I look at you, really look, by squinting, I can see your craters shaped like a map. I love that they look just like our map. I love that this is my official interpretation of your craters but what I actually see is a bunny foetus all curled up in your silver womb.

Moon, I love you when you’re a smoky sliver of yourself, veiled by a yellow glow as if you’re pensive. Or just lonely. These are your shy times. I like to think that this is when you’re sitting in your corner reading your book, or maybe you’re contemplating our fates. I am sure that one phases you as little or as much as the other.

Moon, I love you when you flame, neon and strong, a traffic light in the sky that no one can ignore. These are your special times (though how you become more special is beyond my capacity of understanding). This is when you remind us of your equal standing with the sun. Your strength, though passive, is a worthy rival . You are a secret strength. I love this.

Moon, I love you even when you disappear behind your shadow, leaving only  pale ring to remind us that you’re still there. I guess that this is when you need to hibernate for a while. You need sleep just like us but you’re always there, your silhouette seeping around you like an eternity ring.

Moon, I love you for lighting up my nights. For grazing your fingertips gently over the ocean. For all this and more, I love you.

Goodnight Moon x

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

9 thoughts on “Dear Moon, I Love You”

  1. Awww this is so beautiful! I love the moom…the nights when I fall asleep and look out my window and actually see the moon looking back at me, are the best nights. The moon makes me feel connected to people I love, some who know me well and others who don’t know me at all!

    1. Thank you! That’s what I always think when I’m missing people!

      I love that you wrote ‘moom’ by accident too! This is my new (second) favourite word. My new first favourite word is ‘adorkable. Spread it the word. Literally.

      And link yourself, woman!

      1. Haha I totally thought I’d corrected the moom to moon but now that you’ve chosen my word to be your second word favorite word…I feel deeply honored! Adorkable is a very favorite word of mine as well!

  2. ‘Moon, I love you when you flame, neon and strong, a traffic light in the sky that no one can ignore’

    powerful punchline over there.

  3. “Moon, I love you even when you disappear behind your shadow, leaving only pale ring to remind us that you’re still there. I guess that this is when you need to hibernate for a while. You need sleep just like us but you’re always there, your silhouette seeping around you like an eternity ring.”

    Yea, that resonates so much with me right now.

    I still love this one. Lotsly.

    1. I love all the awesome words in these comments: moom, lotsly. It’s frabjus (private joke that a only a certain commenter -that will probably never read this- would get).

Leave a Reply

