Thirty-nine: Body Maps

Before I
thought that
that extra pinch
of
skin on my thigh
would mean that
someone would
love me a little
less.

Before I
lost
my wisdom,
I hated my
jawline.
Such a
srange
thing
to
hate,
I know.

Now my
body
is the
earth, enveloped
in olive seas,
scattered by
islands,
red and raw.
like
laser
lighthouse
lights
beaming
you
home.
I am my own map.
(I bet
you won’t
stop
to ask
for
directions,
anyway.)

I love it.
I have my life on my skin.

This is a poem I would love to develop. It’s 2am and I should be sleeping. Inspiration is trickling in but hasn’t quite settled in my fingertips. I should have waited before I posted this but patience is not one of my virtues! (Modesty is by the way.)

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

3 thoughts on “Thirty-nine: Body Maps”

  1. I love this.

    I also love the disclaimer. So many of my word doodles are like that. I feel like they’re just a hint at the real story that is remaining just out of reach.

  2. The imagery in this one is beautiful – ‘like laser lighthouse lights beaming you home’, so gorgeous. So thankful I stumbled upon your blog! I love poetry, it’s amazing – as is yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

