Thirty-two: Closure Cliche

It was great to see you the other day.
You looked exactly the same.
I don’t mean this in the good way.
It was kind of funny, actually;
I didn’t think I’d changed
but
Your words slid off me like dead leeches.
I can’t imagine a time
when you sucked me dry.
I’d like to  say that I’m over you
but
it’s difficult to get over someone
when
you’ve always been above them.

Sorry I didn’t listen to a single
thing you said, but realising
that I’m a cliche took some time.
Here’s the clincher:
Everybody was right.
I am too good for you.
(Bet that don’t feel so good.)

You always knew it
and now so do I.

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

One thought on “Thirty-two: Closure Cliche”

Leave a Reply

