Thirteen: Paper Doll In A Cage

Shut up,
I wear heels bigger than your dick.
I make spiderweb eyes at you, wanting you
to get tangled in my own question mark.
I laugh and say, ‘Catch me if you can,’
because it’s safe, because you could,
but I won’t let you.

I swear on this millenium’s seventies rebellion,
looking so far down on you you’re nothing but
a speck in a long line of nights. I sneer and I say,
‘Come home with me,’ because it’s safe,
because I know I can kick you out in the morning,
before the truth dawns on you, glass thick.

I tear my skin from yours. I rise and say everything
before you get a chance, because I can,
because if I don’t, you will,
and it’s safer for me to be holding the balls.

Suddenly I see a bitter thin wink in the mirror;
It says, ‘You stupid girl, your sword is plastic.

You’re nothing but a paper doll in a cage.’

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

One thought on “Thirteen: Paper Doll In A Cage”

Leave a Reply

