.If This Was A Book.

I could pause and put you down;
It would make a change to be the one that’s
Up. Up, I could make coffee, mull it
Over.
When I get stuck on
Something you say, I could
Keep you like a bookmark, keep
You there until I think of a
Comeback. I could come back
When I’m stronger and read
Exactly
What you said
So I could throw every word in your face.

Then I could rewrite you, so you would say
Everything I want to hear.

But this isn’t a book, and you are
Nothing but a chapter so I climb
Down and put you
On the shelf. I turn my
Back and reach for
Someone else.

Published by

Alexia

I drink, I laugh, I smoke, I write.

5 thoughts on “.If This Was A Book.”

Leave a Reply

