Unexpected Moment at 4:33am

I go back into the party to find my friends and decide to say goodnight to him. I snake my way through the room of bopping artists and pop my head into the den but, not seeing him, I decide to make tracks. As I turn, a hand pulls me back. It’s him. Without thinking, I link my arms around his neck. We hold each other for moments. When we let go I tell him I wanted to say goodnight. He says, “I know. I saw you.” And how did he know he was the one I was looking for? We smile. As I leave, our hands linger down each other’s arms until they’re clasped. We hold on until we have to let go.

This is a lovely, unexpected experience regardless of the outcome.

I write about men a lot and sometimes this makes me feel vapid and ungrounded. But maybe I’m just always writing about intimacy. Even if it’s just for a moment at a party with someone whose name I don’t remember.

4 thoughts on “Unexpected Moment at 4:33am

  1. “vapid and ungrounded”

    With all the things I’ve been through, I have not been able to get these words out of my head. What has inspired more, and richer, language than these magic and tragic and tenuous interactions? Write only of these and, though some may feel different, I would count your life supremely well lived.

Leave a Reply

